Psychotic Waltz Reviews

On February 14th 2020, progressive metal heads Psychotic Waltz left us a Valentines Day gift by releasing their latest album "The God Shaped Void", this is their first music release in 23 years.

The album features 11 tracks including 1 bonus track titled "Season of the Swarm" which is available in the limited Media book CD of which comes with an expanded booklet and exclusive logo patch. It is also available in the vinyl edition & digital versions.

A message from Psychotic Waltz

“Today is a special day for us, the release of our fifth album, and first record in over two decades. It’s crazy to think that 35 years ago, the five of us started playing together in Aslan, which a few years later we re-named Psychotic Waltz. We can’t thank our fans enough for their enormous patience biding their time until the album was done. But the wait is officially over! The album basically picks up where we left off in 1997, with the added benefit of modern technology and perhaps a more mature songwriting perspective. We would also like to give thanks to Jens Bogren for his great job with the mixing and mastering, and Ulrich Wild for his tracking work. It’s definitely our best-sounding album to date, and we can’t forget the amazing work of our longtime collaborator Travis Smith for the outstanding artwork. Turn it up, and enjoy!”

So what are our thoughts about the new album?

Having never heard of Psychotic Waltz before, we do have to say we're extremely impressed with the album. It most certainly gives us TOOL vibes, which as we all know, is a very, very, very, good thing. Our favourite song from the album is titled "All The Bad Men" which was released as a single 3 weeks ago. We cannot believe that it's been 23 years since their last album release titled "Blood" in 1996.

Overall, we will most definitely will be listening to some more music from this band, and we think you should to.

How many skulls out of 10 would we give the new album? (Rating)

9/10 💀 - "One of the best albums of 2020 so far" - Rock Lifestyle UK

So, the moment you've all been waiting for, let's get to our "Album Rankings"!

1.) All The Bad Men

2.) Sisters of the Dawn

3.) While The Spiders Spin

“The third single is ‘While The Spiders Spin’, which was the first song we played live from the new album, back when we did some shows in 2017. The acoustic intro was added later. Costin once again did a great job capturing the mood of the song, which is a commentary on the impersonal nature of modern society and how our phones and devices only seem to isolate rather than unite us.”


4.) Back to Black

5.) The Fallen

6.) In The Silence

7.) Devils and Angels

8.) Season of the Swarm

9.) Stranded

10.) Pull The String

11.) Demystified

Do you agree with our list? What is your favourite song from this album? Let us know in the comments below!

Album & Single Artwork:

Ældre opslag Nyere opslag

Indsend en kommentar